Planning & Zoning Commission


The Planning & Zoning Commission consists of seven members, two alternate members, and are appointed by the City Council to serve a two year term. All P&Z Commissioners are Azle Residents and qualified voters. The P&Z was established in 1958 and its duties and responsibilities include the development and recommendation to City Council for the adoption of a Comprehensive Master Plan, as a whole or in parts, for the future development and redevelopment of the city, and prepare and maintain the Comprehensive Zoning Ordinance in accordance with state law. The P&Z reviews and makes recommendations to the City Council on zoning cases, issues, and approve plats; as well as advise the City Council on the physical growth and development of the City. The Commission also acts as the Capital Improvement Project Board.


The Planning and Zoning Commission meets as needed on the first and third Thursday of every month in the Azle City Council Chambers at 505 W. Main at 6:00 p.m.


PositionCommittee MemberTerm Expiration Date
Place 1Jared Arneson10/31/2021
Place 2Glenn Coffey10/31/2020
Place 3Laurel Mosier10/31/2021
Place 4Leonard Wheeler - Chairman10/31/2020
Place 5Mick Rudock10/31/2021
Place 6Curt Lampkin10/31/2020
Place 7James Carlson - Vice Chairman10/31/2021
Place 8-AlternateOPEN10/31/2020
Place 9-AlternateOPEN10/31/2021
Ad-Hoc Member
No Term Limit
Council LiaisonChristopher Simpson, Council Member
Staff LiaisonGreg Mitchell, Development Services Manager

Azle Municipal Code, Chapter 1, Article 1.04, Division 2