Crime Control & Prevention District


The Crime Control and Prevention District (CCPD) is governed by a Board of Directors composed of seven Azle residents appointed by the City Council and serve for a two year term. The CCPD works jointly with the City Council to ensure that funds raised through the 0.25% Crime Control sales tax are spent on services and programs that will reduce crime, increase public safety and maintain a high quality of life in Azle. 

The District was originally approved by voters on May 16, 2001 for a 4-year period. A continuation referendum was held in 2006 reauthorizing the District for an additional four years. At the second continuation referendum held on May 14, 2011, the District was renewed by voters for an additional 10 years.  On May 1, 2021, Azle voters reauthorized the CCPD and sales tax for another fifteen years. The next continuation election will occur in 2036.


The Crime Control and Prevention District meets as needed in the Community Room at Azle City Hall, 505 W. Main St, Azle, Texas at 6:00 p.m. Meetings are open to the public. To be alerted to the next meeting, sign up for Notify Me


PositionCommittee MemberTerm Expiration Date
Place 1Phillip Koch8/31/2025
Place 2Jon Gilson8/31/2025
Place 3Kathy Heath8/31/2024
Place 4Brayn Weaver8/31/2025
Place 5Joe Lieb8/31/2024
Place 6Leslie Simmons8/31/2024
Place 7OPEN8/31/2025
Council LiaisonsStacy Peek, Council Member

Brian Conner, Council Member
Staff LiaisonChief of Police


Since its inception in 2001, many accomplishments have been achieved with the addition of the District’s half-cent sales tax. Improvements have been made in handling criminal and other police services. The CCPD has made a positive impact in police response times, and the reduction of burglaries and auto thefts. Goals of the District are to continue to demonstrate proactive, progressive and preventative policing at all levels and to provide an environment where our citizens feel safe at work, at home, and at play.

Local Government Code Chapter 363 (PDF)

Azle Municipal Code, Chapter 11, Article 11.03.003